Blake's random ramblings and adventures

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Youtube page up

Leave a comment

I started a YouTube page.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMfJ-P8xoi5aBsXxnkG53sQ

I’m going to have a video about every trail I hike. I set a goal for myself to be accomplished no later than age 50, which gives me more than enough time to complete it. I am going to earn the DCNR hiker’s award for hiking all 18 trails in PA’s state forest trail system. Over 700 miles of trails. The trails are:

Baker Trail (141 miles), Black Forest Trail (42 miles), Bucktail Path (34 miles), Chuck Kieper Trail (52 miles), Donut Hole Trail (90 miles), Golden Eagle Trail (9 miles), John P. Saylor Trail (18 miles), Lost Turkey Trail (26 miles), Loyalsock Trail (59 miles), Mid State Trail (319 miles), Old Logger’s Path (27 miles), Pinchot Trail (23 miles), Quehanna Trail (75 miles), Rocky Knob Trail (4 miles), Susquehannock Trail (85 miles), Thunder Swamp Trail (26 miles), Tuscarora Trail (110 miles in PA), and the West Rim Trail (30 miles).

I wish I had set this goal earlier, I would’ve approached certain hikes differently. I already have about 10% of it done. Pinchot is finished, West Rim I still have 6 miles to hike, I did the first 13 miles on the Loyalsock, and I did 10 miles on the OLP. Had this goal been set earlier, I would’ve done the entire west rim, and I wouldn’t have quit the OLP due to rain. I have an idea about the order I will hike them in due to research into difficulty levels. The easiest trails and easiest to follow trails will be knocked off first. Some of them present challenges that I must build experience with before trying to tackle them. The Bucktail path, for example, apparently has no trail, it is just blazes and you bushwack the whole way. I need to develop better navigation skills before trying that. The Lost Turkey Trail has limited areas where you can camp, so planning and logistics will need to improve. Some are just really long, and I need to get better at sleeping in the woods before I try those.

Leave a Reply

